Student LoansValueMD Sponsor
Home Forum Books Links Album Residency USMLE PreMed


Caribbean Medical Schools European Medical Schools Foreign Medical Schools Medical Resources
Go Back   ValueMD Medical Schools Forum > MEDICAL FORUMS > Financial Aid Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2005, 07:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
Paras Education Loan Foundation Legit or ...

Hi, I was hoping that a few members here could clarify the situation with this strange loan program (located in India) that claims to cater financial aid to many schools globally. I had visited their website and noted that under the "Caribbean Section - " the following schools were on the list :

Code:
AUC
MUA
SGU
ROSS MED
ROSS VET
SABA
SPARTAN
SGU
SAINT MATTHEWS
SINT EUSTATIUS
A friend of mine had called up both Saint Matthews and Sint Eustatius to get some detail as to what this loan was about.

Sint Eustatius had said, they had never heard [until my friend mentioned it] of this loan. The only loan available to us is TERI. If any student tries to request a loan through the Paras group would be denied for Sint Eustatius will not authorize approval.

Saint Matthews initially sent out letters [also noted in the SMU forum] regarding the new Paras Program. Upon calling the school, they said the only loan they have is TERI. They were working on the details with PARAS, and they are aware of it's existence, BUT the financial officer said : they wouldn't advise at the moment to apply to this program. - they left it at that without further details.

This is very very strange. Anyone have any more information regarding this organization? I'm sure the other schools are not in affiliation with Paras either. Seems that a tremendous (probably every single one in each state!!) amount of U.S. schools are listed too!


There are a few posts about Paras scattered around the ValueMD forum, but unfortunately not much has been discussed. I hope that this could be kept in the Main School forum for a few days as the financial aid forum doesn't get many visitors. Thanks for everything!


http://www.isloan.org/

http://www.isloan.org/reg2.asp

http://www.isloan.org/faqs.htm

http://www.isloan.org/media.htm
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2005, 05:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
yeah...

Yes, Ive heard about them and have actually couple of my friends for med school around the world. I know that getting the funds is easy after going through their process ....but he had to be patient till the process was completely done. I asked my friend and he's visited them in India and said it was a professionally run organization that has helped many students worldwide. I have got positive reviews so far from my contacts.......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2005, 05:23 PM
sheikh1's Avatar
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,045
I was pre-appro...for loan by Xpress student loan, based in Minassota, anybody familiar with them. I called my school, which is mua and they said that is fine.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-08-2005, 02:31 PM
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bonaire
Posts: 2,696
I don't know

They want $2500 up front, draft , and claim it takes up to 8 weeks for approval.
Located in India.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-10-2005, 05:42 PM
Knight007's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 425
They better aprrove your loan if they require $2500 up front !!!!!!!!
__________________
St. Matthew's University SOM

Luck favors those who leave nothing to chance
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-09-2005, 03:54 PM
BTH's Avatar
BTH BTH is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 760
Response.

Wow, according to some students, the Paras Loan Foundation is a legitimate foundation located in India. I would be very cautious about this loan until the school actually approves. I would not want to be shelling out $2,500 only to have a loan disapproved. So make sure you find out more about the loan before sending them any money!

The healthXpress student loans is legitimate. If one attends MUA Nevis or SABA, one can easily obtain this loan. Good luck and Ciao.
__________________
"To achieve success, you must first define success."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-18-2005, 07:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 116
Loan

Do some home work before you pay anyone up front!
__________________
IF IT IS POSSIBLE I WILL DO IT...IF IT IS IMPOSSIBLE, I WILL TRY IT!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All about the Current loan crisis: a students guide johndoe456732 Financial Aid Forum 10 06-16-2008 05:40 PM
Tommyk posts 232-300 mommd USMLE Step 1 Forum 8 01-26-2007 10:39 AM
The Changing Face of Chiropractic Education - A Corollary azskeptic Chiropractic Schools 2 04-18-2006 07:10 PM
Global minimum essential requirements in medical education raj Main Foreign Medical Schools Forum 2 03-27-2006 02:50 AM
paras education foundation r1978 Financial Aid Forum 1 04-25-2005 05:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0 ©2008, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright © 2003-2008 ValueMD, LLC. All rights reserved.
Home About Privacy Contact us Disclaimer Site Map Advertise

Site Meter

International Foreign and Caribbean medical schools,
ValueMD provides information on medical education from premed to residency